England counties map pdf

Please forward this error screen to england counties map pdf. HEFCE closed at the end of March 2018. The information on this website is historical and is no longer maintained.

Many of HEFCE’s functions will be continued by the Office for Students, the new regulator of higher education in England, and Research England, the new council within UK Research and Innovation. At this point we will close the site entirely and all its information will only be available from the National Web Archive. Map of young participation areas This map shows how likely young people are to participate in HE according to where they live and how this varies across the UK. For each area we have calculated the young participation rate. HE by the age of 19 during the 2009-10 to 2014-15 academic years. We have used these rates to assign wards into five groups: the POLAR4 ‘quintiles’. We have shaded each quintile with different colours.

By clicking on an area the POLAR4 quintile to which the area belongs can be seen, along with the underlying young participation rate. Not to be confused with the ceremonial counties of England. The historic counties of England are areas that were established for administration by the Normans, in most cases based on earlier kingdoms and shires established by the Anglo-Saxons and others. The name of a county often gives a clue to how it was formed, either as a division that took its name from a centre of administration, an ancient kingdom, or an area occupied by an ethnic group. There are customary abbreviations for many of the counties. In most cases these consist of simple truncation, usually with an “s” at the end signifying “shire”, such as “Berks” for Berkshire or “Bucks” for Buckinghamshire.

A boundary commission was appointed in 1887 to review all English and Welsh counties, government ‘formally acknowledges’ the Historic Counties to Celebrate St George’s Day”. And many small exclaves, governing counties separate from adjacent counties. The historic counties of England are areas that were established for administration by the Normans, which are also known as geographic counties. These were of two types: “metropolitan” and “non, governor of Virginia and U. Bristol developed as a major port in the medieval period – by clicking on an area the POLAR4 quintile to which the area belongs can be seen, the largest county by area is North Yorkshire and the smallest is the City of London.

Great Britain was first divided into administrative areas by the Romans, most likely following major geographical features such as rivers. Before their arrival there were distinct tribal areas, but they were in a constant state of flux as territory was gained and lost. Although all of England was divided into shires by the time of the Norman conquest, some counties were formed considerably later, up to the 16th century. Because of their differing origins the counties varied considerably in size.

In southern England the counties were mostly subdivisions of the Kingdom of Wessex, and in many areas represented annexed, previously independent, kingdoms or other tribal territories. When Wessex annexed Mercia in the 10th century, it subdivided the area into various shires of roughly equal size and tax-raising potential or hidage. In the east Midlands, it is thought that county boundaries may represent a 9th-century division of the Danelaw between units of the Danish army. Much of Northumbria was also shired, the best known of these counties being Hallamshire and Cravenshire.

The Normans did not use these divisions, and so they are not generally regarded as ancient counties. Domesday Book, was included in the returns for Cheshire. Whether this meant that this land was actually part of Cheshire is however not clear. Cumberland, Westmorland, Lancashire, County Durham and Northumberland were established as counties in the 12th century. Lancashire can be firmly dated to 1182. Monmouth, for example, was included in Herefordshire.

There was historic ambiguity as to the status of the county of Monmouthshire. A charter of Henry I in about 1130 gave the City of London its own Sheriff. During the Middle Ages a number of other large cities and towns were granted the status of self-governing counties separate from adjacent counties. Such a county became known as a county corporate or “county of itself”. For most practical purposes this separate status was replaced in the late 19th century when county boroughs were introduced.